RSS Feed

Handmade Cat Toys

Little Kikki

Hi friends,

This spring we found a little kitten– and kittens are wont to do, she is growing up and is full of energy. As a first-time kitten mom, I’ve been learning a lot. Like–Cat toys are a total racket, am I right?! I don’t understand how a plastic wand with some feathers cost $5…must be the up charge for traveling across the globe to get into our supermarkets. Hrmmmph. I digress.

I’ve also been learning a lot about how to raise a well-behaved feline friend. According to my new favorite show, My Cat From Hell, depleting excess energy through play is a great way to ensure they avoid destructive behavior like clawing furniture and hunting your hands and feet. This show is a great resource for learning the best practices on kitten-rearing. You can find it on Animal Planet, check your local listings.*

The animal behaviorist, Jackson, almost always recommends three things:

1. Make a path up high so your cat can maneuver around a room without touching the floor. (Height = Confidence)

2. Take your cat on walks.

3. Use toys to give your kitty exercise and good play time to direct all their energy in a positive way.

Yesterday I made three super easy, incredibly simple cat toys from things I found around my house. Seriously, here’s what I used:

Toy 1: Mouse Fishing

– a dowel

– a piece of string

– a safety pin

– a toy mouse (got a 6 pack for a $1 at the discount store)

Toy 2: Feathered Friend

– a dowel

– a feather decoration leftover from a craft project. Check the feather boa aisle of your local craft store.

– some masking tape

– some pretty scrap ribbon

Toy 3: Buttoned Bobber

– a dowel

– some string

– a champagne cork

– a button

– some yarn from an old sweater’s repair kit

– a hammer & nail (to make a hole in the cork)

– a needle (to thread the cork)

Check out the step-by-step video on how to make Toy 3:

Happy Crafting,

love, liz.

*Disclaimer: Animal Planet doesn’t know who I am. They’re not giving me any money. I just sincerely think this is a great show.

About Liz Maute Cooke

Designer, Maker and Doer. Native Oklahoman, making a home in New Orleans.

One response »

  1. Clever, creative and funny! I’ll stay tuned for more help, so I can become a “happy crafter”.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

